Main Menu

About ASRU

The ASRU is an independent incorporated association run by members of the teaching profession who believe rugby has a unique ethos and benefits that contribute to the broader education of young people. The Committee comprises of delegates appointed by each state Schools Union – two from each state/territory, 3 from NSW. Delegates then elect an Executive.

The Australian Schools’ Rugby Union first convened as a committee in 1972 and the first Australian Schools Championships was conducted in 1975 in Melbourne.

The first Australian Schoolboys team predated the establishment of the ASRU Committee and Championships. That team toured South Africa in 1969 at the personal invitation of Danny Craven playing seven provincial games but no test matches. Greg Cornelsen, Russell Fairfax and Steve Finnane were all members of that team. Since then some 170 Schoolboys have gone to play for the Wallabies, countless more representing their State.

The first tour of the UK by an Australian Schools team occurred in 1973, playing fifteen matches only losing to England at Twickenham in their final match. The UK tour has been a feature of Australian Schools Rugby occurring every four years since then.
The ASRU is an affiliate of the Australian Rugby Union and receive a significant amount of funding from the ARU. The ARU provides advice on player selections and appointment of coaches and management.

The Australian Schools Rugby Foundation is a separate incorporate body whose aim is to support the aims of the Schools Rugby Union. The Foundation comprises of business men, past Australian Schoolboys and Wallabies who look to use their business networks to provide additional financial support to the ASRU. The current Foundation Chair is David Mortimer.